All Forums
 Help For Easy-PC Users
 Auto-Routing
 Can't autoroute the most trivial of connections

Note: You must be registered in order to post a reply.
To register, click here. Registration is FREE!

Screensize:
UserName:
Password:
Format Mode:
Format: BoldItalicizedUnderlineStrikethrough Align LeftCenteredAlign Right Horizontal Rule Insert HyperlinkInsert Email Insert CodeInsert QuoteInsert List

* HTML is OFF
* Forum Code is ON
Smilies
Smile [:)] Big Smile [:D] Cool [8D] Blush [:I]
Tongue [:P] Evil [):] Wink [;)] Clown [:o)]
Black Eye [B)] Eight Ball [8] Frown [:(] Shy [8)]
Shocked [:0] Angry [:(!] Dead [xx(] Sleepy [|)]
Kisses [:X] Approve [^] Disapprove [V] Question [?]

Check here to subscribe to this topic.

T O P I C    R E V I E W
mjsilva Posted - 05 Sep 2011 : 18:21:21
I'm new to Easy-PC, and have run into a wall. I've reduced the problem to placing a single 74HC00 IC (DIP pkg) on a PCB design, making a couple of unrouted connections between pins, and running Trace Router. Most of the connections do not get routed (maybe 1/3 get routed). I've got trace/spacing of 10/10 mils so that can't be the problem. I've tried it with and without a board outline. I didn't set up the layers, but the layers bar shows top and bottom copper and all the other layers I'd expect.

I'm at a loss here. What simple thing am I missing?
4   L A T E S T    R E P L I E S    (Newest First)
Iain Wilkie Posted - 09 Aug 2019 : 09:14:46
A bit of advice at a professional level ..... just don't use an auto-router at all !!

Iain

nigelwright7557 Posted - 09 Aug 2019 : 08:54:23
An auto-router cant read the circuit designers mind, things like star grounding etc. So I tend to run mine and then go in and fix what I don't like.

I convert schematic to a pcb.
I then go into pcb and move components close together.
Then run net optimiser.
Then autoroute.
Fix what the auto-router did.
mjsilva Posted - 07 Sep 2011 : 05:46:18